Language selection

Search

Accessible Excel documents

Important information

  • Our soon to be awesome site is new and still under construction. Please open an issue on our Github project if you see anything that needs to be fixed or if you have any recommendations.

Accessible practices for Microsoft Excel 2016 document creation.

Accessibility Checker

Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, Power Point) provides a built-in accessibility validator. The checker does not identify all issues, but looks for things such as: missing alternative text, duplicate slide titles, and potential reading order issues.

Screenshot of Check for Issues menu

How to use the Accessibility Checker:

  1. Activate the File Tab > Info > Check for Issues > Check Accessibility
  2. Review the results in the Accessibility Checker pane
  3. Address the listed issues. Helpful information to understand and fix the different issues is provided at the bottom of the pane

Tables

Avoid using complex table structures in all documents. If tables include nested tables, merged cells, split cells and/or blank rows/ columns, they become difficult for screen readers to navigate . When using a table, design it to be as simple as possible. Assign meaningful names to the headers and rows to facilitate user navigation.

Sheet tabs

Give all sheet tabs in your document unique and meaningful names. Ensure that the name given to each tab accurately describes the contents found on the worksheet. This will make it easier to navigate through the workbook. It is best to remove all blank sheets from your document.

Fonts

Choose fonts and styles that are easy to read.

Use of colour

Use a contrast checking tool to check the contrast of the text (foreground) relative to the background. For most text, the contrast ratio must be 4.5:1. For large, bold text (14 point bold, or 18 point regular), this requirement is relaxed to 3:1. Since it is extremely likely that the sheet will be viewed at low zoom (so as to see more of it), all text should meet 4.5:1 minimum. The WCAG AAA requirement is 7:1 – aim for this.

Do not use colour alone to convey meaning or emphasis in a word, cell or block of text. Patterns may be added to colour for those who are colour blind. Mandatory fields should be identified with an asterisk * and the word “required” rather than being labelled in red.

Non-text elements

Alternative text

Visual elements such as photos, screenshots, icons, videos and 3D models should all include alternative text. Alt text allows people who cannot see the image understand the message and what is important. A good alt text should be concise and to the point. It should not be more than a sentence or two and should include the important information the image conveys. When creating an alt text, do not begin with “this is an image of”. Do begin with “Screenshot of” for screenshots.

To assign alternative text to images:

  1. Open the context menu for the image by right-clicking or pressing the applications key
  2. Activate Format Picture
  3. Activate the Size and Property tool
  4. Enter a title in the Title field. Note: This field should only be filled in if you are entering a detailed or long explanation in the Description field
  5. Enter an appropriate alternative text in the Description field
  6. If the image is meaningful, convey in words the meaning, function, or purpose communicated by the image
  7. If an image conveys no information (i.e., it is decorative or redundant), enter the word “decorative” (no quotes) in the Description field
  8. Activate the Close button
Screenshot of Format Picture sidebar

Charts and diagrams

Ensure complex images and charts provide long descriptions. Complex images include: schematics, plans, diagrams, or any other image that conveys a large amount of information. This is necessary as users who cannot see the complex image will not be able to sufficiently determine its value/purpose.

To add a long description to diagrams and chart:

  1. Open the context menu for the chart/diagram and activate Format Chart Area
  2. The Format Chart Area menu will open
  3. Activate Size and Properties
  4. Provide a meaningful long description
    1. Describe the title of the chart
    2. The role it plays in the document
    3. The relationship of elements in the correct order
  5. Activate the Close button

See Complex Images for more recommendations.

Links

People who use screen readers sometimes scan a list of links; therefore, ensure link text is meaningful within the context of the document. Link text should accurately reflect the target and purpose of the link. If link text is not provided, users will need to follow the link to determine its purpose, which can present difficulties for users of adaptive technology. An example of appropriate link text would be including the full title of the destination rather than linking to the text “Click Here”.

To add hyperlinks with meaningful text:

  1. Type or paste a web address in your document
  2. Select the link and open the context menu
  3. Activate Hyperlink
  4. Edit the Text to Display field with meaningful text.
Screenshot of Insert Hyperlink dialog

Additional resources

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Search

Documents Excel accessibles

Informations importantes

  • Notre site, qui sera bientôt génial, est nouveau et toujours en construction. Veuillez ouvrir un « issue » sur notre projet Github si vous voyez quelque chose qui doit être corrigé ou si vous avez des recommandations.

Pratiques accessibles pour la création de documents Microsoft Excel 2016.

Vérificateur d’accessibilité

Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint) comporte un programme intégré de vérification de l’accessibilité. Le vérificateur ne détecte pas tous les problèmes, mais recherche des éléments, comme les textes de remplacement manquants, les titres de diapositive en double et les problèmes potentiels d’ordre de lecture.

Capture d’écran de menu vérification de l’accessibilité

Comment utiliser le vérificateur d’accessibilité :

  1. Activez l’onglet Fichier > Informations > Vérifier l’absence de problèmes > Vérifier l’accessibilité.
  2. Examinez les résultats dans le volet Vérificateur d’accessibilité.
  3. Corrigez les problèmes énumérés. Au bas du volet, vous trouverez des renseignements pratiques pour comprendre et résoudre les différents problèmes.

Tableaux

Évitez les structures de tableau complexes dans tous les documents. Si les tableaux comprennent des tableaux imbriqués, des cellules fusionnées, des cellules fractionnées, des lignes ou des colonnes vides, ces tableaux entravent la navigation des lecteurs d’écran. Lorsque vous utilisez un tableau, concevez-le aussi simplement que possible. Donnez des titres évocateurs aux colonnes et aux lignes afin de faciliter la navigation de l’utilisateur.

Onglets des feuilles de calcul

Donnez des noms uniques et évocateurs à toutes les feuilles de votre document. Veillez à ce que le nom donné à chaque onglet décrive avec précision le contenu de la feuille de calcul. Cela facilitera la navigation à l’intérieur du classeur. Il est préférable de supprimer toutes les feuilles vierges de votre document.

Polices

Choisissez des polices et des styles faciles à lire.

Utilisation de la couleur

Utilisez un outil de vérification du contraste (en anglais seulement) pour vérifier le contraste du texte (en premier plan) par rapport à l’arrière-plan. Pour la plupart des textes, le rapport de contraste doit être de 4,5:1. Pour les polices de grandes tailles et en caractère gras (caractère gras de 14 points ou régulier de 18 points), cette exigence est assouplie à 3:1. Comme il est très probable que la feuille soit visualisée à un zoom faible (pour en voir plus), tout le texte doit respecter un rapport minimum de 4,5:1. Visez l’exigence WCAG AAA de 7:1.

Évitez d’utiliser uniquement la couleur pour donner un sens ou une importance à un mot, une cellule ou un bloc de texte. Il est possible d’ajouter un motif à la couleur pour les utilisateurs daltoniens. Les champs obligatoires doivent être identifiés par un astérisque (*) et le mot « requis » plutôt qu’inscrits en rouge.

Éléments non textuels

Texte de remplacement

Les éléments visuels comme les photos, les captures d’écran, les icônes, les vidéos et les modèles 3D doivent tous comprendre un texte de remplacement. Le texte de remplacement permet aux personnes qui ne peuvent pas voir l’image, de comprendre le message et ce qui est important. Un bon texte de remplacement est concis et pertinent. Il ne doit pas être plus long qu’une ou deux phrases et doit indiquer l’information importante transmise par l’image. Lors de la création d’un texte de remplacement, évitez de commencer par « ceci est une image de ». Par contre, pour les captures d’écran, commencez par « capture d’écran de ».

Pour attribuer du texte de remplacement aux images :

  1. Ouvrez le menu contextuel en cliquant à droite sur l’image ou en appuyant sur la touche de l’application.
  2. Activez Format de l’image.
  3. Activez l’outil Taille et propriétés.
  4. Saisissez un titre dans le champ Titre. Remarque : Ne remplissez ce champ que si vous saisissez une description est longue et détaillée dans le champ Description.
  5. Saisissez un texte de remplacement pertinent dans le champ Description.
  6. Si l’image est importante, communiquez en mots le sens, la fonction ou l’objectif transmis par l’image.
  7. Si une image ne transmet aucune information (c’est-à-dire qu’elle est décorative ou redondante), saisissez le mot « décoratif » (sans les guillemets) dans le champ Description.
  8. Activez le bouton Fermer.
Capture d’écran de Outil Format de l’image

Graphiques et diagrammes

Veillez à ce que les images et les graphiques complexes comportent de longues descriptions. Les images complexes comprennent : les schémas, les plans, les diagrammes ou toute autre image véhiculant une grande quantité d’informations. Une telle description est nécessaire, car les utilisateurs qui ne sont pas en mesure de voir l’image complexe ne comprendront pas suffisamment sa valeur ou son objectif.

Pour ajouter une description longue aux diagrammes et aux graphiques :

  1. Activez le menu contextuel du graphique ou du diagramme et activez Format de la zone de graphique.
  2. Le menu Format de la zone de graphique apparaît.
  3. Activez Taille et propriétés.
  4. Indiquez une description longue pertinente.
    1. Décrivez le titre du graphique.
    2. Le rôle qu’il joue dans le document.
    3. L’interrelation des éléments dans le bon ordre.
  5. Activez le bouton Fermer.

Consultez la page Images complexes (en anglais seulement) pour d’autres recommandations.

Hyperliens

Les utilisateurs de lecteurs d’écran parcourent parfois la liste des liens. Veillez donc à ce que le titre des liens soit pertinent dans le contexte du document. Le titre du lien doit transmettre avec précision l’intention et l’objectif du lien. Si aucun texte n’est fourni avec le lien, les utilisateurs devront suivre le lien pour en déterminer l’objectif, ce qui peut présenter des difficultés pour les utilisateurs de technologies adaptées. Un exemple de titre de lien pertinent comprend le titre complet de la destination plutôt qu’un lien vers le texte « Cliquez ici ».

Pour ajouter des hyperliens avec un titre pertinent :

  1. Saisissez ou collez une adresse Web dans votre document.
  2. Sélectionnez le lien et ouvrez le menu contextuel.
  3. Activez Lien hypertexte.
  4. Modifiez le Texte à afficher par un texte pertinent.
Capture d’écran de Insérer un lien hypertexte

Ressources supplémentaires

Date de modification :