Language selection

Search

Accessible PDF documents

Important information

  • Our soon to be awesome site is new and still under construction. Please open an issue on our Github project if you see anything that needs to be fixed or if you have any recommendations.

Accessible practices for PDF document creation.

Introduction

PDF (Portable Document Format) is a common format for distributing printable documents. This format was created by Adobe, and can be opened with Adobe Acrobat as well as many other tools and some web browsers.

What makes a PDF accessible?

An accessible PDF is usable by persons with a variety of disabilities. For instance, a blind user may use a screen reader, a braille display, or even print the document in braille format. A person with a motor impairment may use a keyboard rather than a mouse to navigate between form fields. Other users may need to adjust the font size or spacing to compensate for vision loss or learning / cognitive disabilities.

General document accessibility guidelines also apply to PDFs. That means that the document should be properly structured with headings, there is sufficient contrast, and images have alternate text. Make sure to read the general document accessibility guide before continuing.

Since PDF documents often contain interactive components like forms, their accessibility should be evaluated based on the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines. Following this guide does not ensure compliance with these guidelines, but it is a good start.

Recommended authoring tools

Microsoft Word

Note: These instructions apply to the current version of Word as of December 2020.

The easiest way to create an accessible PDF is to begin with an accessible Word document. Once you have created an accessible document in Word, if you do not have a professional version of a PDF authoring tool installed, export it through File > Export > Create PDF/XPS Document > Create PDF/XPS (do not use "print to PDF"!).

Screenshot of Export dialog in Word demonstrating where in the file menu to export a PDF. Namely File > Export > Create PDF/XPS

In the dialog box, select Options and check these boxes:

Screenshot of PDF export options in Word

If you do have a professional PDF authoring tool installed, a tab for the tool should be added to Microsoft Word Ribbon menu. To create a PDF:

Adobe products

Adobe Acrobat Pro, InDesign, FrameMaker, and LiveCycle Designer will export to tagged PDF, and offer more control over visual styles than Word. (LiveCycle Designer is specifically tailored to creating forms.)

Other PDF authoring tools

Outside of the Adobe family of products as mentioned above, there are several PDF authoring tools out there such as Foxit PhantomPDF and Kofax Power PDF. This document, however, focuses on using Foxit PhantomPDF.

To create a PDF document using a professional version of Foxit PhantomPDF, you can consult this tutorial about Creating PDFs.

Validating and remediating accessibility with PhantomPDF

Foxit PhantomPDF is an essential tool for validating and remediating PDF accessibility. The current version as of December 2020 is PhantomPDF Business 10.1. The following information is specific to this version.

Automated validation

Foxit PhantomPDF provides a built-in accessibility checker. The checker does not identify all issues, but looks for things such as: missing document title, tags, figures alternative text and other potential issues.

To run the accessibility checker, open your PDF document and in the Ribbon select the Accessibility tab then select Full Check.

Screenshot of Accessibility Checker in Phantom PDF

Under Report Options uncheck "Create accessibility report" if you do not wish to export the issues, and select Start Checking.

Screenshot of the Accessibility Checker options menu in Phantom PDF

This will generate a list of issues similar to the one pictured above. Inspect each failure, issues will need to be either resolved or checked manually.

Remediating issues

Some issues can be fixed simply by opening the context menu (right-clicking) for the issue and selecting Fix.

Common issues and solutions

Besides general accessibility issues, pay special attention to the following areas of PDF accessibility.

Document structure (tags)

An important part of PDF accessibility is “tagging”. Using a recommended authoring tool, tags will be automatically created based on the existing document structure. For instance, a heading created in Microsoft Word will be tagged as a heading in the PDF when you export. These tags are similar to HTML.

To check if a document is tagged, navigate to File > Properties or press Control + D to bring up the document properties, or run the Accessibility Checker. If not tagged, return to your authoring tool (ie.g. Word) if possible, ensure you have structured the document correctly, and export again using the settings given above.

To manually set tags, use the Reading Order tool (Accessibility > Setup > Reading Order)

Alternative text (“alt text”) for Images

To set alt text in PhantomPDF, navigate to Accessibility > Alternate Text > Set Alternate Text. If your image does not show up in the list of figures, or the message “There is no figure information to display” appears, the images have not been correctly tagged as figures, and you will first have to tag them.

Decorative images (which should be ignored by screen readers) should be tagged as “Background”.

Language and title

A meaningful title and the document’s language need to be specified. In PhantomPDF, navigate to File > Properties or press Control + D to bring up the document’s properties. The language field can be found under the Advanced tab.

Bilingual PDF documents present special issues and should be avoided, especially for forms. It is preferable to offer multiple versions of the same PDF, one for each language.

A passage in a different language than the main language of the document must be tagged separately. For example, an English paragraph may appear in a French document indicating that the document is also available in English. For more information, visit the page about Specifying the language for a passage or phrase. You can set the language for the text in a subtree of the tags tree in the Tags panel or in the Content panel located in the navigation pane. To do this, open the context menu (right-clicking) for an element, choose Properties..., and select a language in the Object Properties dialog box.

Scanned documents: images of text

PDFs created from scanning in a paper document need, at minimum, to have the text recognized in order to be made accessible. This can be done automatically using Optical Character Recognition (OCR). Please note that OCR is not always 100% accurate, so be sure to review the text manually after conversion. See Learn how to Scan and OCR editable PDFs.

Bookmarks

Any PDF longer than one page should include bookmarks. These may be automatically generated (such as when exporting from Word, provided the correct settings are used – see Microsoft Word section above) or you may have to create bookmarks manually within PhantomPDF.

Forms

Creating an accessible PDF form is tricky, as form fields created in other programs are not directly exported into the PDF. See WebAIM’s guide to creating accessible forms in PhantomPDF.

Some general tips:

Reading order

Documents created in graphics software, rather than Word, may have issues with reading order. For instance, the elements might be read in the order they were created, rather than the visual order. Multiple columns of text can also cause reading order issues. This can be checked by navigating to Home > Reflow or pressing Control + 4 to reflow the document (See “Other PDF accessibility testing tools” below). See Review and repair the content order.

Missing spaces and line breaks

Improper characters used by the author for spaces or line breaks causes words to jam together with reflow. This authoring problem occurs frequently with PDF. To test for this, export to plain text in PhantomPDF by navigating to Convert > Export > To Other > To Plain Text, or select all and copy / paste into a plain text editor like Notepad. In the plain text version, are there missing spaces and line breaks? If so, check your export settings in the authoring program. Next, try using a wider spaced font. If you have reduced the letter or word spacing, put this back to the default. If the issue persists, consider using a different authoring tool.

Tables

Table cells must be associated with table headers. To make your life easier, begin with a simple table (one with no merged cells) in Microsoft Word. Ensure that it is correctly structured with table headers by checking with the aforementioned Reading Order tool. An example of a correctly structured table is shown here. See PDF Accessibility: Make tables more Accessible.

Other PDF accessibility testing tools

Enabling PhantomPDF’s built-in accessibility features, located in the Ribbon under the tab Accessibility > Configuration > Setup Assistant, allows you to manually test the reading order and other structural issues. WebAIM recommends that you should still manually review the accessibility of your PDF after using PhantomPDF's other accessibility tools and features.

Testing a form with NVDA (a free screen reader) will quickly identify label and tab order issues. Try to fill out the form using nothing but your ears and your keyboard. This will give you an idea of what screen reader users will experience.

An alternative to PhantomPDF’s inbuilt accessibility checker is Free PDF Accessibility Checker (PAC 3). While this program alone won’t allow you to remediate issues, you may be able to make your fixes upstream in the authoring tool (Word, InDesign, etc.). It may also identify issues that PhantomPDF does not.

Additional resources

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Search

Documents PDF accessibles

Informations importantes

  • Notre site, qui sera bientôt génial, est nouveau et toujours en construction. Veuillez ouvrir un « issue » sur notre projet Github si vous voyez quelque chose qui doit être corrigé ou si vous avez des recommandations.

Pratiques accessibles pour la création de documents PDF.

Introduction

Le format PDF (Portable Document Format) est un format fréquemment utilisé pour la distribution de documents imprimables. Ce format, créé par Adobe, peut être ouvert avec Adobe Acrobat ainsi qu’avec autres outils et de nombreux navigateurs Web.

Qu’est-ce qui rend un PDF accessible?

Un fichier PDF accessible est utilisable par des personnes avec ou sans handicaps qui utilisent des technologies ou des techniques adaptées pour accéder à l’information. Par exemple, un utilisateur aveugle peut utiliser un lecteur d’écran ou un afficheur braille. Une personne ayant une déficience motrice peut utiliser un clavier plutôt qu’une souris pour naviguer d’un champ à l’autre, dans un formulaire. D’autres utilisateurs peuvent avoir besoin d’ajuster la taille de la police ou l’espacement des caractères pour compenser une perte de vision ou des troubles d’apprentissage ou cognitifs.

Les directives générales relatives à l’accessibilité des documents s’appliquent également aux documents PDF. Cela signifie que le document doit être adéquatement structuré avec des titres, que le contraste est suffisant et que les images comportent un texte de remplacement. Assurez-vous de lire les directives générales relatives à l’accessibilité des documents avant de continuer.

Puisque les documents PDF contiennent souvent des éléments interactifs, comme des formulaires, leur accessibilité doit être évaluée selon les Règles pour l’accessibilité des contenus Web (en anglais seulement). Le respect de ce guide ne garantit pas la conformité à ces directives, mais c’est un bon début.

Outils d’édition recommandés

Microsoft Word

Remarque : Ces instructions font référence à la version actuelle de Word à compter de décembre 2020.

Le moyen le plus simple de créer un fichier PDF accessible consiste à commencer par un document Word accessible. Une fois que vous avez créé un document accessible dans Word et n’avez pas un outil de création de PDF professionnelle, vous pouvez l’exporter en cliquant sur Fichier > Exporter > Créer un document PDF/XPS > Créer PDF/XPS (n’utilisez jamais la fonction Imprimer au format PDF!).

Capture écran qui démontre le processus d'exportation d'un PDF dans Word. Fichier > Exporter > Créer un document PDF/XPS > Créer PDF/XPS

Dans la boîte de dialogue, sélectionnez Options et cochez les cases suivantes :

Capture écran qui démontre le bouton « Options » activé lors du processus d'exportation de PDF dans Word.

Si vous avez un outil de création PDF professionnelle installée, un onglet devrait être présent dans le menu ruban du haut dans Microsoft Word. Pour créer un PDF :

Produits Adobe

Les produits Adobe Acrobat Pro, InDesign, FrameMaker et LiveCycle Designer exportent au format PDF balisé et offrent davantage de contrôle sur les styles visuels que Word. (LiveCycle Designer est spécialement conçu pour la création de formulaires)

Autres outils de création PDF

Autre que les outils qui font partie de la famille Adobe mentionnée précédemment, il existe aussi des outils tels que Foxit PhantomPDF et Kofax Power PDF. Dans ce document, nous allons mettre la cible sur Foxit PhantomPDF.

Afin de créer un document PDF en se servant de la version professionnelle de Foxit PhantomPDF, veuillez consulter ce tutoriel au sujet de la Création de PDF.

Vérification et correction de l’accessibilité avec Foxit PhantomPDF

Foxit PhantomPDF est un outil essentiel pour la vérification et la correction de l’accessibilité des documents PDF. La version actuelle, en vigueur depuis décembre 2020, est Foxit PhantomPDF Business 10.1. L’information qui suit porte sur cette version.

Vérification automatisée

Foxit PhantomPDF offre un outil d’évaluation d’accessibilité intégré. L’outil ne souligne pas toutes les erreurs, mais identifie des erreurs comme : un titre, des étiquettes, figures ou texte de remplacement manquants, ainsi que d’autres problèmes potentiels.

Pour se servir du vérificateur d’accessibilité, ouvrir votre document PDF et choisir Accessibilité dans le menu ruban. Ensuite sélectionner Vérification complète.

Capture d’écran de la liste des succès et échecs d'accessibilité dans Phantom PDF

Sous Options de rapport, désélectionner « Créer un rapport d’accessibilité » si vous ne désirez pas exporter un document qui souligne les erreurs et ensuite choisir Commencer la vérification.

Capture d’écran du menu Options de vérificateur d'accessibilité

Ceci permettra a généré une liste des échecs semblable a celles dans la photo précédente. Vérifier chaque échec, car elles auront à être corrigées, souvent de façon manuelle.

Correction des erreurs

Certaines erreurs peuvent être corrigées simplement en ouvrant le menu contextuel du problème et en sélectionnant Corriger.

Erreurs et solutions fréquentes

Accordez une attention particulière aux éléments liés à l’accessibilité des PDF suivants.

Structure du document (balises)

Le « balisage » est un élément important de l’accessibilité des PDF. Les balises décrivent la représentation structurelle d’un élément au sein du document. Par exemple, il est important que la balise d’un lien indique bien qu’il s’agit d’un lien et qu’un titre est bien un titre pour qu’il apparaisse dans le volet de navigation.

À l’aide d’un outil d’édition recommandé, des balises sont automatiquement créées selon la structure du document actuel. Par exemple, un en-tête créé dans Microsoft Word sera balisé comme un en-tête dans le fichier PDF lors de l’exportation.

Pour vérifier si un document est balisé, naviguer a Fichier > Propriétés ou appuyer sur Contrôle + D pour afficher les propriétés du document ou exécuter le Vérificateur d’accessibilité. Si ce n’est pas le cas, retournez, dans la mesure du possible, dans votre outil d’édition (c.-à-d. Word), assurez-vous que la structure de votre document est adéquate et exportez-le à nouveau en utilisant les paramètres indiqués dans la section Microsoft Word ci-dessus.

Pour définir les balises manuellement, utilisez Comment étiqueter vos PDF avec l’outil Ordre de lecture (Outils > Accessibilité > Configuration > Ordre de lecture).

Texte de remplacement (« alt text ») pour les images

Pour ajouter un texte de remplacement dans Foxit PhantomPDF, rendez-vous à Outils > Accessibilité > Texte de remplacement > Ajouter texte de remplacement. Si votre image n’apparaît pas dans la liste d’images, ou le message « Aucune information d’image à afficher » apparaît, les images n’ont pas été correctement balisées et vous devrez d’abord les baliser.

Les images décoratives (qui sont ignorées par les lecteurs d’écran) doivent être balisées comme « Arrière-plan ».

Langue et titre

Il est important de préciser un titre évocateur et la langue du document. Dans Foxit PhantomPDF, naviguer a Fichier > Propriétés ou appuyer sur Contrôle + D pour afficher les propriétés du document. Le champ de langue se trouve sous l’onglet Avancé.

Les documents PDF bilingues présentent des problèmes particuliers et doivent être évités, en particulier pour ce qui est des formulaires. Il est préférable d’offrir plusieurs versions du même PDF, une pour chaque langue.

Un passage dans une langue autre que la langue principale du document doit être balisé séparément. Par exemple, un paragraphe anglais dans un document français qui indique que le document est également disponible en anglais. Consultez la page Préciser la langue d’un passage ou d’une phrase (en anglais seulement). Vous pouvez choisir le langage du texte dans le sous-menu de l’onglet Étiquettes ou dans le panneau Contenu dans le panneau de navigation. Afin d’effectuer cette action, ouvrez le menu Contenu en cliquant avec le bouton droit sur un élément et choisir Propriétés… ensuite choisissez Langue dans la boite de dialogue Propriétés d’objet.

Documents numérisés : images d’un texte

Les documents PDF créés à partir de la numérisation d’un document papier doivent au moins reconnaître le texte pour être accessibles. Il est possible de le faire automatiquement à l’aide de la fonction de Reconnaissance optique de caractères (ROC). Le procédé ROC n’est pas fiable à 100 %, il est donc important d’examiner le texte vous-même par la suite. Voir Comment numériser, reconnaître et rendre des PDF modifiables.

Signets

Tout PDF de plus d’une page doit contenir des signets. Les signets peuvent être générés automatiquement (par exemple lors de l’exportation à partir de Word, à condition que les paramètres utilisés soient adéquats - indiqués dans la section Microsoft Word ci-dessus) ou vous devez créer des signets manuellement dans Foxit PhantomPDF.

Formulaires

La création d’un formulaire PDF accessible est délicate, car les champs de formulaire créés dans d’autres programmes ne sont pas directement exportés dans le fichier PDF. Consultez le Guide sur la création de formulaires accessibles d’Adobe. Quelques conseils généraux :

Ordre de lecture

Les documents créés avec un logiciel graphique, plutôt que Word, peuvent présenter l’information dans le mauvais ordre pour les lecteurs d’écran et d’autres technologies adaptées. Par exemple, il se peut que les éléments soient lus dans l’ordre dans lequel ils ont été créés, plutôt que dans l’ordre visuel prévu. Plusieurs colonnes de texte peuvent également occasionner des problèmes d’ordre de lecture. Pour vérifier l’ordre de lecture, naviguez à l’onglet Accueil > Réorganiser ou appuyez sur Contrôle + 4 pour rediffuser le document (consultez « Autres outils de vérification d’accessibilité PDF » ci-dessous). Consultez la page Comment étiqueter vos PDF avec l’outil Ordre de lecture.

Espaces et sauts de ligne manquants

L’utilisation par l’auteur de caractères inappropriés pour les espaces où les sauts de ligne occasionne un regroupement des mots lors de la redistribution. Ce problème d’édition se produit fréquemment avec les documents PDF. Pour le vérifier, exportez-le en texte brut dans Foxit PhantomPDF en naviguant à Convertir > Exporter > Dans un autre format > Vers du texte brut ou sélectionnez tout le texte et faites un copier-coller dans un éditeur de texte brut, comme Notepad. Dans la version texte brut, manque-t-il des espaces et des sauts de ligne? Si c’est le cas, vérifiez vos paramètres d’exportation dans le programme d’édition. Ensuite, essayez une police dont les caractères sont plus espacés. Si vous avez réduit l’espacement des lettres ou des mots, retournez aux valeurs par défaut. Si le problème persiste, envisagez l’utilisation d’un autre outil d’édition.

Tableaux

Les cellules de tableau doivent être associées aux en-têtes du tableau. Commencez par un tableau simple (sans cellules fusionnées) dans Microsoft Word. Assurez-vous qu’il est correctement structuré avec des en-têtes de tableau en vérifiant avec l’outil d’ordre de lecture susmentionné. Un exemple de tableau correctement structuré est présenté ici. Consultez Comment rendre les tableaux plus accessibles dans les documents PDF.

Autres outils de vérification d’accessibilité PDF

L’activation des fonctions d’accessibilité intégrées de Foxit PhantomPDF, dans l'onglet Accessibilité > Configuration > Assistant de configuration, vous permet de vérifier manuellement l’ordre de lecture et d’autres problèmes structurels. Consultez comment rendre facilement accessibles des documents PDF avec l’assistant d’action pour plus d’information.

Vérifiez votre formulaire avec NVDA (un lecteur d’écran gratuit) (en anglais seulement) pour repérer rapidement les problèmes liés à l’ordre des balises et des tabulations. Tentez de remplir le formulaire en n’utilisant que vos oreilles et votre clavier. Cela vous donnera une idée de l’expérience des utilisateurs de lecteurs d’écran.

Outre le vérificateur d’accessibilité intégré de Foxit PhantomPDF, un autre outil est le Vérificateur d’accessibilité PDF gratuit (PAC 3) (en anglais seulement). Bien que ce programme ne vous permette pas, à lui seul, de remédier aux problèmes, il est possible que vous puissiez effectuer vos corrections dans l’outil d’édition au préalable (Word, InDesign, etc.). Il peut également cerner des problèmes que Foxit PhantomPDF n’a pas su reconnaître.

Ressources supplémentaires

Date de modification :